Fenxy

Welcome to Fenxy! Fun, sexy and entertaining.: Signup or Login Here
Fenxy is proudly hosted by (mt) Media Temple.  We recommend them for your web hosting needs.
Clips: Popular Clips Upcoming Clips Notes: All Notes

Just heard news that Oink has been shut down.

TORRENT PRE-RELEASE music site OiNK has been shut down by British and Dutch coppers after a two year investigation.

If anyone has used Oink before, they know that this sucks real bad. It's only a matter of time before something else pops up though.

Do you think former users have anything to worry about?

I can't believe anyone actually used the word coppers.

Anyway, contrary to what the homepage now says, they're hardly going to go after 180,000+ users. They'll be looking at the people running the site.

Then again, if you used your real e-mail address, or a common username, on the site, you only have yourself to blame if they do.

Yeah I've had multiple invites thrown my way and have never signed up. Something about "illegal activity" and "user account tied to me" don't sound good in my head. At least through other Torrent apps I have the illusion of anonymity...

Yeah, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a tad bit concerned....

I don't think they'll go after even most of the users. I would say the ones that live in countries where it would be easy to sue and have shared a lot, mostly the uploaders, will have more to worry about.

I haven't been active on OiNK in awhile. I only used it for two months and then dropped off. Either way, I own pretty much everything I've downloaded.

Never tried it... didn't really have the time either...

Something about "illegal activity" and "user account tied to me" don't sound good in my head.

Precisely. :)

You guys are way too paranoid.

I pay for music.

I actually got an invite and signed up but I never remembered I even did and never used it... OH WELL.

Wasn't it under investigation or something before? It changed from .co.uk to .cd, and that was for this reason, correct?

I used it once. I think someone let me sign in with their username.

Rich, I think that was you.

It was. But don't expect me to bail you out if the authorities come after you.

Who are you again?

LOL

Paranoid like my dad when I bought something from allofmp3.com. He was hopped up thinking the commies were going to come nuke my house.

You forget I live in Belgium. We have no authorities :-D

Btw, I can't wait for the site to be hacked and display some deejaying LOLcat or something. That'd be cool.

On a somewhat related note, it really annoys me that the recently commandeered IFPI site is missing a few apostrophes.

It really is too bad, it was an awesome place to hang out and you know, do stuff.

http://oink.cd/

Mmmmm, waffles.

So, you may be aware that there are now two replacements to OiNK in the works. One will be public, run by TPB, and one will be private, run by god knows who. I'm actually quite interested to see how it plays out.

Well hopefully I can get in on the action of one of those two sites........or both.

Well, TPB's is meant to launch some time in the next few days, and will inevitably be a free-for-all, and Waffles launches midnight Halloween and will be invite only. Also, if you're an ex-OiNK member, and can prove it, I believe Waffles will let you in with or without an invite.

Are there links to any of these up? Like, placeholder sites? You cam PM those to me if needed.

Boink.cd is TPB's. Nothing there yet. Waffles.fm is the other. The name makes me think it'll be run by ex-OiNKers, though presumably not the British guy, since the waffles thing was an inside joke with them, apparently.

EdiT: Wasn't being intentionally secretive there, just didn't think to mention the names.

Hells yeah......thanks Rich. Much appreciated.

waffles.fm is being run by ex-oinkers, although I'm not sure exactly which ones.

As for if anyone is still worried about getting a letter from the RIAA or whatever:

Yawg> did you anticipate a raid in the past? Did you take any precautions regarding site design and logs and whatnot to protect the community?
OiNK> the logs we store aren't enough to inciminate users

Waffles.fm has an faq page up for people curious on getting in.

Trent Reznor used OiNK. Also, Saul Williams new album is coming out...and it's a free download on his website.

Edit: His album is free, or you can done $5. It's 192kpbs with artwork and lyrics. If you pay you can choose 192, 320, or FLAC.

Josh, that's a good article....found this in the comments.

It's a scam, as well as anything else with oink in the name.

Got in to the what.cd site!

Really? I'm showing nothing there still!

Edit: Should check my feeds first. Any chance of an invite then, JPhill?

I have two, but they are already taken......let me find out how to get more.

Ah, you bastard.

I hadn't even heard of what.cd until this morning. Where in the hell did that come from?

Did anyone get invites from waffles.fm, after sending proof of being an ex-OiNKer? I haven't yet.

Also, I predict it will be less than 24 hours before the "What/Waffles invites?" notes start going up.

Yeah my buddy had mentioned the what.cd to me yesterday, and he sent me an invite. I'm also still waiting on the Waffle membership as well. I sent my original Oink invite email. So that should be coming soon.

Also, I predict it will be less than 24 hours before the "What/Waffles invites?" notes start going up.

Unfortunately.....It will probably be within this note.

I'm a former power user on oink... To who would I send the proof of being an ex-oinker...? cant find any contact info on the sites...thx

So, Oink was shut down, another site popped up that I've been using for a couple weeks, and today I just got an email from the RIAA.

The RIAA had hoped that the disabling by the police of the large illegal
music site, Oink.cd, would stop a lot of people from engaging in piracy,
as they don't want to be seen as criminals. However, this appears to
not be the case, as two large new sites have sprung up in its place.

This email is the final warning to all of you who were members of
Oink.cd and are current members of What.cd. If we find you to be
committing any more criminal acts of piracy then we will have to press
charges against you, as representatives of the major record companies of
America.

That pretty much sucks, and I might just have to bite the bullet and stop using What.cd.

Update: I guess the email was fake.

Any e-mail claiming to be from the RIAA can be presumed a fake. They would send you a letter. And it certainly wouldn't be a friendly last reminder, it would be them demanding money.

I pay for music too.

Please Login To Leave A Comment

Fenxy Sponsors Get in touch if you want in.

Hot Notes (View all »)

 

Fenxy is part of the Chawlk Network of sites.

9 Great Places To Visit, Hang Out, & Meet New People

What's new and interesting at other Chawlk Network sites: